10 States Officially Ask Trump for More Refugees

News: US News
by John Binder  •  ChurchMilitant.com  •  December 17, 2019   

Ten governors representing their states, including three Republicans, seek more in 2020

You are not signed in as a Premium user; you are viewing the free version of this program. Premium users have access to full-length programs with limited commercials and receive a 10% discount in the store! Sign up for only one day for the low cost of $1.99. Click the button below.

Ten governors representing their states, including three Republicans, have officially asked President Trump's administration to resettle more refugees in their communities in 2020.

For Fiscal Year 2020, President Donald Trump will continue cutting refugee admissions by reducing former President Barack Obama's refugee inflow by at least 80%. This reduction would mean a maximum of 18,000 refugees can be resettled in the U.S. between Oct. 1, 2019, and Sept. 30, 2020. This is merely a numerical limit and not a goal federal officials are supposed to reach.

Coupled with the refugee reduction, Trump signed an executive order that gives localities, counties and states veto power over whether they want to resettle refugees in their communities.

Thus far, the Democrat governors of Kansas, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Washington have approved more refugee resettlement in their local communities. An additional three GOP governors, Doug Ducey of Arizona, Doug Burgum of North Dakota, and Gary Herbert of Utah have approved refugee resettlement in their states as well.

Localities and states have until about January 2020 to request that the Trump administration resettle refugees in their communities for Fiscal Year 2020, which started Oct. 1.

Aside from the 10 states approving, 10 localities have also given official consent to the federal government to resettle more refugees in their towns and cities, including:

  • New Haven, Conn.
  • DuPage County, Ill.
  • Easthampton, Mass.
  • Holyoke, Mass.
  • Northampton, Mass.
  • Salem, Mass.
  • Durham County, N.C.
  • Bexar County, Tex.
  • Alexandria, Va.
  • Richmond, Va.

Read the rest at Breitbart.


Have a news tip? Submit news to our tip line.

We rely on you to support our news reporting. Please donate today.
By commenting on ChurchMilitant.com you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our comment posting guidelines

Loading Comments